Navigation
Home Page

Latest Newsletter (website translatable version)

Should you wish to translate this newsletter, please select from the languages at the bottom of the web page.

5th September 2018,

 

Dear Parents,

 

I hope that you had a lovely summer and enjoyed spending time with your families and friends.

 

The staff returned to school on Monday for an INSET day which began with a Liturgy before focusing on preparing staff for the year ahead with training on safeguarding, health and safety and curriculum.

 

Thank you

Thank you so much for the cards, gifts and kind words that were shared with staff at the end of last term. We were all overwhelmed by your kindness.

 

Staffing

This term we welcome Miss Gardikiotis who will be teaching Year 6 and Mrs Munns who started with us at the end of last year and has returned to teach Year 5 with Mrs Leaman. We are also delighted to welcome back Mrs Smith who is now feeling much better and looking forward to working with Year 4.

 

Goodbye

It is with much sadness that we say goodbye to Canon Dominic this week. He has been a wise friend to the staff and a tremendous support to the senior leadership team. Children and staff alike will very much miss his friendship, warmth and calm presence around the school. We wish him well in his new home and role in Jersey.

 

Welcome

We offer a very warm welcome to the new children who have started with us this term as well as the new Reception children who will be joining us over the next few weeks.

 

School Nurse

The nurse will continue to hold drop-in sessions once every month in school. The next session will be on Monday 10th September between 9am and 10.30am. If you would like to sign up for a 10 minute slot, please see the office.

 

First Holy Communion

This year, the school will be hosting the First Holy Communion preparation classes as an after school club from January until June 2019. If your child is in Year 3 and you wish them to make their First Holy Communion next year, please collect an application form from the Cathedral.

 

School Uniform

Thank you for sending your child to school in the correct uniform. Please make sure that the uniform policy is followed every day – shoes must be plain black, hair accessories should be small, green, hair coloured or yellow and shirts should be white polo shirts. Please ensure that every piece of your child’s uniform and PE kit are clearly labelled.

 

Nasal Flu Vaccine

This year, the school nurses are offering the nasal flu vaccine to children from Reception to Year 5 on Friday 16th November. It is a very simple and pain free vaccine that protects children against flu and the serious complications associated with it. Letters and consent forms will be sent home after half term.

 

Family Learning Workshops

These workshops provide an opportunity for you to meet other parents, work alongside your child and develop your own understanding of an area of your child’s curriculum.

Look out for the letters to sign up to the following workshops:

Yr R English Family Learning (Wed 31st Oct - Wed 28th Nov)

Yr 2 Maths Family Learning (Wed 9th Jan - Wed 13th Feb)

Yr 3/4 Science Family Learning (Wed 5th June - Wed 3rd July)

 

School Building Fund

Thank you to those who have paid so promptly and to those who have signed up for the standing order. Over the summer, we have had the hall redecorated and the hall floor renovated and also received plans for extending our Nursery. Projects such as these are able to take place due to the generosity of those who have contributed to the building fund. Thank you.

 

Christmas

From this year we will be alternating our Christmas show with more traditional events so that staff and children experience more variety in performance. This year, KS 2 will hold a Carol Concert on Tuesday 18th December and KS 1 will perform a Nativity at the Cathedral on Wednesday 19th December.

 

Term Dates

The term dates can be found on the school website or requested from the office.

The school and nursery will be closed for the following INSET days this year;

Monday 29th October

Monday 25th March

Monday 22nd July

Tuesday 23rd July

 

Thank you once again for your continued support and I look forward to us having a happy and productive year ahead.

 

Yours sincerely,

 

L. Park

Head Teacher

DIARY DATES

 

September

 

Wednesday 5th Sept 9am Whole School Mass (hall)

Friday 7th Sept Yr 4 to Charles Dickens Museum

Monday 10th Sept 9-10.30am School Nurse Drop-In

Thursday 13th Sept Yr 3 to Kings Theatre

Friday 14th Sept Beach Clean Event

Thursday 20th Sept Yr 5 begin Swimming Lessons

Friday 28th Sept Yr 4 to Guildhall Concert

 

October

Monday 8th Oct 9-10.30am School Nurse Drop-In

Friday 19th Oct End Of Half Term

Monday 29th Oct INSET Day

Tuesday 30th Oct Back to School

Wednesday 31st Oct 1-3.30pm Yr R English Family Learning

 

November

Monday 5th Nov School Photos

Wednesday 7th Nov Yr 6 to IOW

1-3.30pm Yr R English Family Learning

Friday 9th Nov Yr 6 Back from IOW

Monday 12th Nov 9-10.30am School Nurse Drop-In

Wednesday 14th Nov 1-3.30pm Yr R English Family Learning

Friday 16th Nov Yr R-5 Nasal Flu Vaccinations

Monday 19th Nov Parents Evening

Tuesday 20th Nov Parents Evening

Wednesday 21st Nov Parents Evening

1-3.30pm Yr R English Family Learning

Wednesday 28th Nov 1-3.30pm Yr R English Family Learning

 

December

Wednesday 5th Dec 1-3.30pm Yr R English Family Learning

Monday 10th Dec 9-10.30am School Nurse Drop-In

Tuesday 18th Dec 1.30pm KS 2 Christmas Concert

Wednesday 19th Dec 1.30pm KS 1 Nativity Service

Thursday 20th Dec Christmas Parties

Friday 21st Dec 9am End of Term Assembly

1.30pm End of Term

 

Children return to school on Monday 7th January.

 

 

 

 

Top